Note: this plug-ins is available only for the Ultimate Edition and will not work with the Community Edition.
Added in IntelliJ IDEA 8.1, IntelliJ Configuration Server (formerly known as IDEA Server) makes it possible to synchronize settings across several different IntelliJ IDEA installations or auto-configure new installations using settings from the server.
Since IntelliJ IDEA 9, the IntelliJ Configuration Server plugin is not included in the distribution and needs to be installed separately via Settings | Plugins.
The dedicated public server stores the settings and is available from IntelliJ IDEA via the login using JetBrains Account credentials.
On IntelliJ IDEA start a dialog appears asking you to login using your JetBrains Account. You may already have one or can easily create it. Read online help for the login dialog.
When IntelliJ IDEA is connected to the server the green icon is displayed in the IDE status bar:
Clicking the icon opens the settings dialog allowing to choose the login options ("Show login dialog", "Login silently" or "Do not login") and to disconnect from the server.
When disconnected, the red icon is shown in the status bar:
Once logged in, the settings are synchronized with the server based on "updated" timestamp stored in each settings group. The most recent ones are used and are either sent to server or applied locally from the server.
IntelliJ IDEA always works with settings stored locally. So, IntelliJ IDEA can be used if, at some moment, the server is not available, the local settings are used. On the following connection all updated settings will be pushed to the server.
When logged in to the server, once some settings are updated locally inside IntelliJ IDEA, they are subsequently sent to the server. But local settings are only updated on IntelliJ IDEA startup.
The server stores only one set of settings for each user.
IntelliJ IDEA server stores almost all of the IDE (workspace) and project settings except for some platform-specific ones and those containing local paths.It includes, the code style settings, keymaps, fonts and colors scheme, inspection profiles, and other.
Q: How can I migrate server setting to local?
A: To migrate server settings to a local installation remove the settings files of IntelliJ IDEA, restart the IDE and log in to the server. The settings should be downloaded and applied.
Q: How can I erase settings from the server?
A: Right now this is not possible
Q: Is there some webpage to administer settings on the server?
A: No, but it is possible that it will be implemented some time later.
Q: What happens when I connect in the middle of a development session?
A: The settings will be synchronized based on their timestamps as described above
Q: When I change a setting when connected, do all others connected to these settings instantly get the change as well?
A: Settings are downloaded from the server only after connecting to it. Also, IntelliJ IDEA restart may be required to apply some settings.