This Question is Possibly Answered

1 "correct" answer available (4 pts) 2 "helpful" answers available (2 pts)
16 Replies Last post: Oct 25, 2012 3:01 PM by Asia Rudenko  
Boris Modylevsky Newbie 7 posts since
May 11, 2011
Currently Being Moderated

May 11, 2011 3:30 PM

Continuous integration with dotTRACE

Hi,

 

I would like to execute dotTRACE profiler and save snapshot as part of our automatic builds. Is there any way to execute it from command line or some API?

 

The question was already raised

here http://devnet.jetbrains.net/thread/279672

and here http://devnet.jetbrains.net/message/5218721#5218721

but I could not find "jetBrains.dottrace.exe", only "dottrace.exe" and it does not work from command line.

 

We're using dottrace version 4.0

 

Thanks in advance

Ivan Shakhov JetBrains 95 posts since
Mar 31, 2010
Currently Being Moderated
May 11, 2011 3:44 PM in response to: Boris Modylevsky
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

Hi,

 

DotTrace 4 command line support is scheduled to dotTrace Performance version 4.6 (release in September 2011)

4.6 EAP will start  earlier.

 

WBR, Ivan Shakhov

Peter Mounce Newbie 70 posts since
Dec 23, 2005
Currently Being Moderated
Sep 26, 2011 1:56 PM in response to: Ivan Shakhov
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

+1.  Is there a youtrack issue to kick?

Meidan Alon Newbie 31 posts since
Jan 22, 2008
Currently Being Moderated
Feb 29, 2012 1:58 PM in response to: Ivan Shakhov
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

Hi Ivan,

 

Is command line support (or a relese of 5.0 EAP http://confluence.jetbrains.net/display/NetProf/EAP) scheduled for any time soon?

Thanks.

Asia Rudenko JetBrains 120 posts since
Nov 11, 2010
Currently Being Moderated
Feb 29, 2012 5:08 PM in response to: Meidan Alon
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

Hi Meidan,

I'm not Ivan, but command line will be included in the nearest release, though it's not in EAP yet. I can notify you when a build with command line support appears, if you wish.

Meidan Alon Newbie 31 posts since
Jan 22, 2008
Currently Being Moderated
Feb 29, 2012 6:47 PM in response to: Asia Rudenko
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

Thanks, I'd appreciate any updates.

Do you know when is the new release due?

 

Sent from my Motorola Star-Tac

From: Asia Rudenko

Sent: 2/29/2012 15:08

To: Meidan Alon

Subject: Tracker: dotTrace Continuous integration with dotTRACE

1XS5cy-hNy-mSB0

Meidan Alon,

 

A new message was posted in the thread "Continuous integration with dotTRACE":

 

http://devnet.jetbrains.net/message/5453086#5453086

 

Author  : Asia Rudenko (Asia.Rudenko)

 

Message:

Asia Rudenko JetBrains 120 posts since
Nov 11, 2010
Currently Being Moderated
Mar 1, 2012 3:43 PM in response to: Meidan Alon
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

Not yet - we've estimated only EAP.                                                  

Asia Rudenko JetBrains 120 posts since
Nov 11, 2010
Currently Being Moderated
Oct 22, 2012 7:23 PM in response to: Boris Modylevsky
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

Hello Boris, sorry for late response. Command line profiling is released; link to a guide given below is absolutely right.

Alec L Newbie 6 posts since
Jun 9, 2009
Currently Being Moderated
Oct 19, 2012 4:07 PM in response to: Asia Rudenko
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

I am very interested in command line support as well.  What is the state of this feature?

Meidan Alon Newbie 31 posts since
Jan 22, 2008
Currently Being Moderated
Oct 21, 2012 10:24 AM in response to: Alec L
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE
This look s like a solution:http://blogs.jetbrains.com/dotnet/2012/09/profiling-from-the-command-line-using-dottrace-performance/
Asia Rudenko JetBrains 120 posts since
Nov 11, 2010
Currently Being Moderated
Oct 22, 2012 7:24 PM in response to: Alec L
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE
Alec L Newbie 6 posts since
Jun 9, 2009
Currently Being Moderated
Oct 23, 2012 12:28 AM in response to: Asia Rudenko
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

I looked there and posted a comment because the instructions did not seem complete and I suspect it's not fully automatable.

 

/showcontroller: Open the profile controller dialog where you can start/stop profiling, capture snapshots, and detach/kill the profiled process.

This part doesn’t look like something that can run on a build server and I can’t find any documentation reference on the command line.

How can the following situations be handled completely with the command line with no user intervention.

IIS is running multiple app pools so the PID of the specific w3wp must be passed in to collect data on the right one. I want to start a capture, collect data for a minute, and then stop and save a snapshot.

What if I want to use the new feature to attach to a running process?

Asia Rudenko JetBrains 120 posts since
Nov 11, 2010
Currently Being Moderated
Oct 24, 2012 7:37 PM in response to: Alec L
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

Hello Alec,

/showcontroller option doesn't mean you can't profile without it. It was added in case someone wants to launch profiling from command line, but then deal with UI.

About attach: unfortunately I don't think it's possible now - because of PIDs, same as you mention about IIS.

But - about IIS: you can use profile it with ".NET Process" mode.

Alec L Newbie 6 posts since
Jun 9, 2009
Currently Being Moderated
Oct 24, 2012 8:14 PM in response to: Asia Rudenko
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

It seems like this is almost there and just a little more work would make this feature very usable and powerful.  Any chance on it getting some more attention for a future version?

Asia Rudenko JetBrains 120 posts since
Nov 11, 2010
Currently Being Moderated
Oct 25, 2012 3:01 PM in response to: Alec L
Re: Continuous integration with dotTRACE

Definitely yes! I've put the requests to product backlog. Thanks for feedback!

More Like This

  • Retrieving data ...