10 Replies Last post: Oct 8, 2013 10:31 PM by Rasmus Schultz  
Rasmus Schultz Newbie 9 posts since
May 8, 2013
Currently Being Moderated

Sep 27, 2013 11:59 PM

auto-completion/inspections: trying to understand the role of RubyMine (and Rails)

I've been working with PhpStorm for a while, and I was expecting the same (awesome) experience from RubyMine, which I am currently trying out, and it has been pretty disappointing so far.

I'm fairly new to Ruby and Rails. I am working with Ruby 2.0 under JRuby, and Rails 4.

For the most part, nothing auto-completes, and practically everything lights up with failed inspections.

If I get anything in an auto-complete list at all, it's usually either a list of every method in the entire codebase, it's empty, or in a few cases (such as with ActionMailer) it actually auto-completes methods that, when called, turn out not to exist, while methods that do exist do not show up at all.

Even basic things like typing "request." in a controller/action-method does not provide me with anything useful.

How come questions along the lines of these usually go unanswered?

http://devnet.jetbrains.com/message/5270687

http://devnet.jetbrains.com/message/5485130

It seems like these problems stem from the fact that many methods are generated at run-time, and cannot (feasibly) be inferred by parsing the source-code. (short of running it, obviously.)

From what I've seen so far, Rails developers generally don't annotate or comment much, so there is not much information for the IDE to consume - it seems that attitude is that, as long as you learn various conventions, this is a non-issue and you don't need the annotations, which would just be more stuff you'd have to maintain?

I also see that, when people ask these questions in other forums, they are generally met with smug remarks and rude or superior attitude - I hope that's not going to be the case in this forum.